Videos

How do you decant a port wine? How to pronounce portugese wine terms? What does Dirk Niepoort think about the Vingate Port 1970? Here and at the
Passion Port YouTUBE channel
you can see it and you can also post your opinions, questions and suggestions.


The difference between Vintage Port and LBV

September 2015, Douro Valley, Portugal, Quevedo winery, 15 participants shared some very good Ports from different producers from different Vintages. The theme of the tasting was to check out how will Vintage Port wine develop in comparison to Late Bottled Vintage (LBV) from the same harvest year. Oscar Quevedo summarize in this video the main difference between these two styles of Port wine.

available since June 14, 2016


Niepoort - Quinta de Napoles, Famous Quintas of the Douro #4

Niepoorts wine centre in the Douro region is their famous Quinta de Napoles. We met Dirk Niepoort there and asked him some questions about the terroir, his fantastic winery and the history of this Quinta.

available since February 3, 2016


Taylor´s Quinta de Vargellas - Famous Port Wine Quintas #3

Vargellas is one of the most famous estates in the Douro wine region. For more then 100 years it is the backbone of Taylor´s Vintage Port. The video summarise the most important facts of the vineyards, explained by the chief winemaker David Guimaraens and beautiful views of this extraordinary Quinta.

available since December 6, 2014


Quinta do Vesuvio - Famous Port Wine Quintas #2

Episode # 2 - Quinta do Vesuvio - interview with Dominic Symington Vesuvio is one of the most stunning vineyards in the whole Douro, with more than 400 hectares, an own chapel and railway station and fantastic Vintage Port wines. Since 1989 the Symington Family producers in all, apart from the poorest, years a top class Vintage Port from this single property.

available since October 7, 2014


Famous Port Wine Quintas of the Douro - #1 Vale Meao

The Quinta do Vale Meao, which is almost for 20 years in the possession of the family Olazabal, is one of the most famous Quintas in the Douro due to several factors. The vineyards in the Douro Superior near the village of Poccinho (now end of the railway line) were applied relatively late in the late 19th century. Transforming the former wasteland into valuable vineyards, must have been a grueling amount of work without modern technology, the work done by 800 workers. Vale Meao (back then written with double -L) was founded by the famous Dona Antonia Adelaide Ferreira and delivered their grapes for Port brand Ferreira. From the 50s from this vineyard produces one of the today's most famous ( and most expensive) Portuguese red wine Barca Velha. Since Francisco ("Vito") with his two children (Francisco "Xito" - winemaker and Luisa - Marketing) took over the estate in the mid nineties , the Barca Velha is obtained from other vineyards. But the top red wine of Xito "Quinta do Vale Meao" is just a high-caliber and was shortly after a few years one of the most sought Douro wines. But the Vintage Ports also show depth, complexity and structure and should be in every wine cellar. That the Olazabals still continue to develop their project, testifies, among other things an imposing, modern building of the winery, which has been realized in recent years. But listen to what the sympathetic, renowned and innovative gentleman of the Douro tells us about his gorgeous life's work.

available since June 5, 2014


Ageing potential of Vintage Port - Masterclass mit Dominic Symington und Graham 1970-2011

It is certain that Vintage Port is one of the longest-lived wines in the world. Even if one can Vintage Port drink young and a few vintage wines have been made in recent years also for early consumption , I am still of the firm belief that a great Vintage Port must age well and the best wineries invest all about for wines who develop over several decades. Dominic Symington, managing director and winemaker at the Symington Family Estates looks very similar to this fact. With six other family members into the 13th generation he heads the largest family- owned Portuguese wine producers, who include the brands of Dow , Warre and Graham. In February 2014 he presented in Leverkusen Graham's Vintage Port from five different decades as part of a Master Class for over 30 journalists, sommeliers and wine merchants.

available since May 20, 2014


Harvest report 2013 by Luisa Borges

Harvest report about Douro wine region for the year 2013 by Luisa Borges, enoligst from Vieira de Sousa (Soc. Roncao Pequeno). She talks about the weather conditions, the growing season and of course about the quality of the grapes and the probability of a appearing of Vintage Port.

available since April 10, 2014


O-Port-Unidade

O-Port-unidade is a unique port project by Axel Probst from World of Port. He organised that more than 20 major Port wine producers came together. Each of them delivered at 22nd September 2013 750kg grapes and one VIP from each house went into a lagar to do foot treading personal. The result will be a special Port wine from very good quality who´s benefit after releasing will be donated to the charity organisation of Bagos d`Ouro, who takes care of disadvanteged kids in the Douro region. This official video shows scenes of the making of this Port, short interviews with Dirk Niepoort, Geroge Sandeman and Joao Nicolau de Almeida, and of course the foot treading with Port personalities you have never seen before in a lagar!

available since January 23, 2014


Visit of Porto Krohn - Port wine Lodge and Cellar in Villa Nova de Gaia

Krohn is one of the few independent Port Shippers with history since 1865. They have a worth seeing Lodge in Villa Nova de Gaia with very old Port casks. Iolanda Falcao Carneiro who runs the company with her brother Jose in third generation gives some information about the history of this traditional producer and their speciality - Colheita Ports.

available since May 5, 2013


Port styles 20 year Tawny and Vintage Portwine 1991 & 1992 in comparison at fair Nov 2012

This video summarizes the 20 Years of Port fair in Leverkusen (Germany) from November 2012. At this fair the Port producers showed their 20 Year Tawnies plus a Vintage Port of the same age (1991 or 1992, or both if declared). The video also includes an interview with winemaker David Guimaraens and the Port expert Axel Probst and a tasting notice of a 20y Tawny (SANDEMAN) and Warre Vintage Port 1991.

available since February 24, 2013


Harvest report Portugal 2012 - David Guimaraens about vintage for Port wine at Douro

David Guimaraens, Chief Winemaker of Fladgate Partnership, is responsible for the Ports of Croft, Fonseca and Taylor. He talks about the growing season 2012 in the Douro and about the quality of the harvested grapes.

available since December 28, 2012


Ramos Pinto Portwine tasting 1880-2007 incl. interview with Mr. Nicolau de Almeida

Video from the great Ramos Pinto Portwine vertical tasting with wines from three centuries. The tasting took place in October 2012 in Leverkusen, Germany. 16 participants including the winemaker of Ramos Pinto, Mr. Joao Nicolau de Almeida taste more then 20 Vintage Ports, f.e. the VP 1880. 1924, 1935, 1945, 1970. Passion Port also interviewed Mr. Nicolau de Almeida, he is one of the most famous portugese winemakers, asking him questions about winemaking, his favorite Ports and about his achievement for portugese enology. The video has also German subtitles.

available since November 25, 2012


How to pronounce Port and portugese wine terms - with Oscar Quevedo

Passion Port and Oscar Quevedo (from Quevedo wines from Douro) present three lessons about Port wine and portugese wine words - fundamental terms from portugese wine regions, grape varieties and Port terms and styles. With german subtitles.

available since August 26, 2012


short video from the Essencia do Vinho 2012 in Porto

This is a short video from www.passion-port.de about one of the most beautiful wine fairs in the world which took place in the awesome Palacio do Bolsa in Porto in February 2012. In addition to our report in the REPORTS section, here you have a bit of picture material from this magnificient city in the north of Portugal.

available since April 1, 2012


Interview with Dirk Niepoort about the Vintage Port of 1970

Passion Portwein talked woth Dirk Niepoort about the Vintage Port of 1970. The sympathic wine grower and head of the family company (active in the Port business since 1842) talks about the potential of Vintage Ports and describes that the phenomenon of ports getting better when aged for several years as accepted. Most importantly, he describes the quality of the excellent Vintage Port of 1970, the last vintage bottled in the iconic belly bottle. The video was created in combination with the 70s VP horizontal tasting in December 2011.

available since December 23, 2011


Decant a Port wine

Passion Portwine (www.passion-portwein.de) presents this short video to you. It illustrates how to decant a Vintage Port to reach its full potential of this classic piece of international wine - from the necessary utilities to a detailed manual. We decant a Dow's from 1994.

available since December 8, 2011

Videos

Wie dekantiert man einen Portwein? Wie spricht man Tawny aus? Was hält Dirk Niepoort vom Vintage Port 1970? Videos über Grundwissen und aktuelle Informationen aus dem Weinland Portugal gibt es hier und im eigenen Passion Portwein YouTUBE-Kanal
. Gefallen euch die Videos? Dann abonniert doch kostenfrei unseren Kanal bei YouTube um keine neuen Berichte zu verpassen. Natürlich könnt ihr dort auch eure Meinungen, Fragen und Anregungen posten.


Urlaub im Douro - Tal

Malerische Weinberge und spektakuläre Aussichten: Schon beim ersten Anblick zieht das Douro-Tal im Norden Portugals jeden Besucher in seinen Bann. Trotzdem ist die Region östlich von Porto noch immer ein Geheimtipp unter den Kulturlandschaften Europas. Fernab vom Massentourismus finden Individualreisende, die nach unverfälschtem Genuss, Erholung und Neuentdeckungen suchen, hier ein wahres Eldorado.

verfügbar seit 01.08.2016


Der Unterschied zwischen Vintage Port und LBV

Im September 2015 trafen sich im Douro-Tal (Portugal) 15 Weinliebhaber um dem Unterschied zwischen Vintage Port und Late bottled Vintage auf den Grund zu gehen. Oscar Quevedo, bekannter Winzer aus dem Douro-Tal, erklärt die Vorzüge der beiden Stilrichtungen des Portweins und fasst die legendäre Verkostung zusammen.

verfügbar seit 14.06.2016


Niepoort - Quinta de Napoles, Famous Quintas of the Douro #4

Das Zentrum von Niepoort im Douro-Tal ist die Quinta de Napoles. Hier wachsen nicht nur die Reben für einige der besten Rotweine der Firma, sondern auch die 2007 errichtete Kellerei, die ein wahres architektonisches Meisterwerk ist, zieht die Blicke auf sich. Wir trafen Dirk Niepoort auf Napoles und bekamen neben gutem Essen, herausragenden Weinen auch ein schönes Videointerview.

verfügbar seit 03.02.2016


Madeira Wein Grundwissen

Wie, wozu, aus welchem Glas trinkt man ihn und wie schmeckt Madeira Wein eigentlich? Ich erkläre in diesem Video kurz und bündig die wichtigsten Fakten zu einem der faszinierendsten Weine der Welt.

verfügbar seit 16.01.2015


Taylor´s Quinta de Vargellas - Famous Port Wine Quintas #3

Quinta de Vargellas ist eines der berühmtesten Weingüter der Douro Region. Seit über 100 Jahren bilden die Trauben eine der wichtigsten Komponenten für den Taylor´s Vintage Port. Das fasst die wichtigsten Fakten über Vargellas, erklärt vom Chefönologen David Guimaraens, zusammen und zeigt eindrucksvolle Bilder des Weingutes.

verfügbar seit 06.12.2014


Quinta do Vesuvio - Famous Port Wine Quintas #2

Episode #2 - Quinta do Vesuvio - Interview mit Dominic Symington Vesuivo ist eine der schönsten Quintas im ganzen Douro. Über 400 Hektar groß, mit eigener Kapelle, Bahnstation und einem Premium Vintage Port, der seit 1989 von der Symington Familie von diesem Weingut produziert wird.

verfügbar seit 07.10.2014


Famous Port Wine Quintas of the Douro - #1 Vale Meao

Die Quinta do Vale Meao, welche sich seit knapp 20 Jahren im Besitz der Familie Olazabal befindet, ist aufgrund mehrerer Faktoren eine der bekanntesten Quintas am Douro. Die Weinberge im Douro Superior nahe der Ortschaft Poccinho (heutiges Endstation der Bahnline), wurden erst relativ spät im ausgehenden 19. Jahrhundert angelegt. Die damalige Einöde in wertvolles Kulturland zu verwandeln, muss ohne moderne Technik eine unglaubliche Arbeitsleistung gewesen sein, welche 800 Arbeiter verrichteten. Gegründet wurde Vale Meao (damals noch mit Doppel-L geschrieben) von der berühmten Dona Antonia Adelaide Ferreira und lieferte ihre Trauben zunächst für die Portmarke Ferreira. Ab den 50er Jahren wurden aus diesem Weinberg der heute bekannteste (und teuerste) portugiesische Rotwein, der Barca Velha, produziert. Seit dem Francisco („Vito“) mit seinen beiden Kindern (Francisco „Xito“ - Weinmacher und Luisa – Marketing) das Weingut Mitte der Neunziger übernahm, wird der Barca Velha aus anderen Weinbergen gewonnen. Aber der von Xito produzierte Toprotwein „Quinta do Vale Meao“ ist qualitativ genauso ein Hochkaräter und katapultierte sich bereits nach wenigen Jahren zu den gefragtesten Douroweinen. Aber auch die Vintage Ports zeigen Tiefe, Komplexität und Struktur und sollten in keinem Weinkeller fehlen. Dass die Olazabals ihr Projekt noch immer weiter entwickeln, davon zeugt unter anderem ein imposanter, moderner Neubau der Kellerei, der in den letzten Jahren realisiert wurde. Aber hört selbst was der sympathische und innovative Grandseigneuer des Douro über sein Lebenswerk, vor dem ich respektvoll meinen Hut ziehe, über seine Quinta sagt.

verfügbar seit 05.06.2014


Das Alterungspotential von Vintage Port - Masterclass mit Dominic Symington und Graham 1970-2011

Sicher ist, dass Vintage Port einer der langlebigsten Weine der Welt ist. Auch wenn man Vintage Port jung trinken kann und einige wenige Vintage Weine in den letzten Jahren auch für den frühen Konsum gemacht wurden, bin ich nach wie vor der festen Überzeugung, dass ein großer Vintage Port gut altern muss und die besten Weingüter alles investieren um Weine zu erzeugen die sich über mehrere Dekaden entwickeln. Sehr ähnlich sieht es auch Dominic Symington, Geschäftsführer und Weinmacher bei den Symington Family Estates. Mit sechs weiteren Familienmitgliedern leitet er in der 13. Generation, den größten in Familienbesitz befindlichen portugiesischen Weinproduzenten zu dem unter anderem die Weingüter von Dow, Warre und Graham gehören. Im Februar 2014 präsentierte er in Leverkusen Graham´s Vintage Port aus fünf verschiedenen Dekaden im Rahmen einer Masterclass vor über 30 Journalisten, Sommeliers und Weinhändlern.

verfügbar seit 20.05.2014


Erntebericht 2013 von Luisa Borges

Luisa Borges (Önologin der Vieira de Sousa (Soc. Roncao Pequenco)) über die Ernte in der Douro Weinregion für 2013. Sie spricht über die Wetterbedingungen, die Saison generell und, natürlich, über die Qualität der Trauben und die Wahrscheinlichkeit eines künftigen Vintage Ports.

verfügbar seit 10.04.2014


O-Port-Unidade

O-Port-unidade is a unique port project by Axel Probst from World of Port. He organised that more than 20 major Port wine producers came together. Each of them delivered at 22nd September 2013 750kg grapes and one VIP from each house went into a lagar to do foot treading personal. The result will be a special Port wine from very good quality who´s benefit after releasing will be donated to the charity organisation of Bagos d`Ouro, who takes care of disadvanteged kids in the Douro region. This official video shows scenes of the making of this Port, short interviews with Dirk Niepoort, Geroge Sandeman and Joao Nicolau de Almeida, and of course the foot treading with Port personalities you have never seen before in a lagar!

verfügbar seit 23.01.2014


Unterschiede 20 Jahre Tawny und Vintage Portwein von 1991 und 1992 Bericht Portweinmesse 2012

Im November 2012 veranstaltete World of Port in Leverkusen die Portweinmesse "20 Years of Port". Über 30 verschiedene Portproduzenten präsentierten ihre 20 Jahre Tawnies und einen Vintage Port von 1991 oder 1992. Das Video ist eine Zusammenfassung der Messe und beinhaltet ein Interview mit David Guimaraens (Chefweinmacher bei Fladgate Partnership) und Axel Probst (Portweinexperte) sowie eine Verkostungsnotiz vom 20 Jahre Sandeman Tawny und dem Warre Vintage Port 1991.

verfügbar seit 24.02.2013


Erntebericht Portugal 2012 - David Guimaraens über Vintage für Portwein am Douro

David Guimaraens, Chief Winemaker von Fladgate Partnership, ist verantwortlich für die Portweine von Croft, Fonseca und Taylor. Er spricht über die Vegetationsperiode 2012 in der Douro und über die Qualität der geernteten Trauben.

verfügbar seit 28.12.2012


Ramos Pinto Portwein Probe Vintage Ports von 1880 - 2007 und Interview mit Joao Nicolau de Almeida

Das Video von der großen Ramos Pinto Verkostung im Oktober 2012 mit Portweinen aus drei Jahrhunderten mit deutschen Untertiteln. Das Video beinhaltet einen Kurzbericht über das Porthaus Ramos Pinto und die großartige Verkostung mit Vintage Ports aus großen Jahren wie 1880, 1924, 1931 und 1945. Weiterhin hat Passion Port auch ein interessantes Interview mit einem der bekanntesten Winzer und Önologen Portugals, Joao Nicolau de Almeida, geführt. Der Weinmacher von Ramos Pinto erläutert den Stil seiner Porweine, seine Errungenschaften für den Weinbau in Portugal und auch welches seine persönlichen Lieblingsportweine sind.

verfügbar seit 25.11.2012


Grundkurs Portwein Aussprache von Portbegriffen - mit Oscar Quevedo

Passion Portwein und Oscar Quevedo präsentieren drei Lektionen über die Aussprache von Grundbegriffen aus der portugiesischen Weinwelt und des Portweins. Zunächst werden die Weinregionen, anschließend die Rebsorten und zum Schluss Portweinbegriffe und die unterschiedlichen Portstile erklärt.

verfügbar seit 26.08.2012


Kurzvideo von der Essencia do Vinho 2012 in Porto

Kurzvideo von www.passion-port.de über eine der schönsten Weinmessen weltweit, die im Februar 2012 im prachtvollen Palacio do Bolsa (Börsenpalast) in Porto stattfand. Ergänzend zu unserem Bericht hier ein wenig Bildmaterial aus der bezaubernden Stadt im Norden Portugals.

verfügbar seit 01.04.2012


Interview mit Dirk Niepoort über den Vintage Port Jahrgang 1970

Passion Portwein hat mit Dirk Niepoort über den Vintage Port 1970 gesprochen. Der sympathische Winzer und Kopf des Familienunternehmens, dass seit 1842 im Portgeschäft ist, schildert das Reife- und Entwicklungspotential von Vintage Ports und beschreibt das Phänomen, das alte Vintage Ports oftmals nach vielen Jahren sich besser entwickeln, als unter Umständen zwischenzeitlich angenommen. Insbesondere schildert er auch die Qualität des hervoragenden Vintage Ports 1970, der letzte Jahrgang, welcher von Niepoort Vinhos noch in der kultigen bauchigen Flasche abgefüllt wurde. Das Video entstand im Zusammenhang mit der 70er VP Horizontalverkostung im Dezember 2011.

verfügbar seit 23.12.2011


Portwein dekantieren

Passion Portwein (www.passion-portwein.de) präsentiert euch dieses Kurzvideo. Es wird anschaulich erklärt - von den benötigten Utensilen bis zu einer genauen Handlungsanleitung - wie man einen Vintage Port dekantiert um das volle Genusspotential dieses großen Klassikers des internationalen Weines auszuschöpfen. Dekantiert wird ein Dow's von 1994.

verfügbar seit 08.12.2011